21st Century Oboe
Christopher Redgate & the Howarth-Redgate Oboe
   Home      New works for a new oboe      David Gorton
David Gorton - Austerity Measures II

The music of David Gorton first began to receive attention in 2001 when he was awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize while still a student.  The subsequent commission for the London Sinfonietta, Oblique Prayers, bore the impression of both his postgraduate teachers, Simon Bainbridge and Harrison Birtwistle, while developing a distinctive and unique sound-world described by one commentator as combining “an acute imagination for delicate timbral invention with a prodigious command of the unfolding of this half-hour ritual drama” (The Independent).  Since then a number of central concerns have emerged in subsequent works: a fascination with the malleability of musical time in live performance, the extension of instrumental techniques and tuning systems, and a penchant for virtuosity and extreme gestures.  These can all be found in the Sonata for Solo Cello (for Neil Heyde), Sonnentode (for Jane Manning and Jane’s Minstrels), String Quartet: Trajectories (commissioned by Tate St Ives for the Kreutzer Quartet), Erinnerungsspiel (for Christopher Redgate), and the orchestral piece The Fall of Babel (premiered by the BBC Symphony Orchestra).  Similar concerns are also to be found in microcosm in two works published by the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music: Prelude after d’Anglebert for piano (published in Spectrum 4) and the Second String Quartet (published in Spectrum for String Quartet).  David Gorton currently holds the position of Postgraduate Tutor and Associate Head of Research at the Royal Academy of Music.

c. 20 minutes
Composed as part of a visiting researcher position at the Orpheus Institute in Ghent, Belgium.
First performed by Christopher Redgate (oboe) and the Kreutzer Quartet, Wilton's Music Hall, 12 June 2013.
Listen: The premiere performance of David Gorton's Austerity Measures II with the Kreutzer Quartet.